1990 - 1998

In 1976, there was again a big uproar with the Judges and it resulted in them being replaced a bit into the competition. For this Championship, the rules had been changed and groupers were now prohibited. The semi-final was run with 2 heats of which the 3 best times went to the final.

In terms of technological innovations, two things stood out. One was that some teams started using retractable landing gears and the other was the Swedish Team Larsson/Rylin who were the only ones to run 50-lap rounds with their Rossi. Which meant they went to the final and finished 0.5 lap behind the winning Russian team. But later they were disqualified when their engine was found to be slightly too big and again there was a discussion about rule interpretation and how to measure which resulted in rule clarifications for the next Championship.

At the contest in 1980, AAC engines began to be used to completely take over from the engines used within a few years. The discussions this time mostly concerned the final (again!) where the English and American teams got entangled with each other at the first pit stop, whereby the Danes alone could fly to the end. The two teams that could not complete waited for the Judge's decision for a re-flight, but none came. When protests were submitted, they were rejected on the grounds that they came in too late plus there was no time to re-fly as the organizer wanted to hold their closing ceremony. Here, too, this led to clarifications in the rules for upcoming Championships.

Around 1980, you also started to see more and more flying wings and the discussions came as to whether these fulfilled the requirements of the rules for a Semi-scale appearance. Now more and more teams began to see the advantage of using shut-offs and this eventually led to these becoming mandatory. The propellers went from wood and plastic via fiberglass to carbon fiber and during a period in the 8os/9os, single-bladed carbon fiber propellers were also used, but their saga in F2C was quite short.

1990 Blenod France

Yuri Shabashov/Vladimir Ivanov
 Marcello Magli/Elvis Pirazzini
 Gino Voghera/Andrea Rossi
 ITA

1992 Hradec Kralove Czechoslovakia

Vladimir Titov/Victor Yugov
 Yuri Shabashov/Vladimir Ivanov
 ROS
 Roberto Pennisi/Andrea Rossi
 ITA

1994 Shanghai China

Heiner Borer/ Cesare Saccavino
 Vladimir Titov/Victor Yugov
 Josef Fischer/Hans Straniak

AUT

1996 Norrköping Sweden

Roberto Pennisi/Andrea Rossi ITA
 Yuri Nazin/Oleg Vorobiev RUS
 Marcello Magli/Elvis Pirazzini ITA

1998 Kiev Ukraine

Sergei Andreev/Sergei Sobko
 Marcello Magli/Elvis Pirazzini
 Vladimir Titov/Victor Yugov

RUS
RUS



Heiner Borer and Cesare Saccavino.

Hans Straniak and Josef Fischer.



Elvis Pirazzini, Vladimir Ivanov, Yuri Shabashov, Gino Voghera, Marcello Magli and Andrea Rossi.



Roberto Pennisi, Andrea Rossi, Oleg Vorobiev, Yuri Nazin, Marcello Magli and Elvis Pirazzini.