# 1980 - 1988



J Albritton, W Perkins, J Mau, H Geschwendtner, C Brown and S Smith.



Volodymyr Surayev.



J van Uden, R van Uden, C Brown, S Smith, F Kuhnegger and H Nitsche.



Steve Smith and Colin Brown 20 years later.....



Frederico Rossi, Andrea Rossi, Valentin Shapovalov, Victor Onufrienko, Victor Barkov and Volodymyr Surayev.



Vladimir Ivanov, Yuri Shabashov, Volodymyr Surayev, Victor Barkov, Yuri Nazin and Oleg Vorobiev.

The 1962 Championship received only positive criticism for one thing; the excellent scoreboard. Otherwise, it was bad administration, bad Judge decisions and too short warm-up time in F2C compared to the rules. In the final, the two Russian teams worked together and made life miserable for the Hungarian team. Protests that the winner's model did not follow the rules were rejected.

In 1964, the warm-up time was increased from 0.5 minutes to 1 minute after a decision at the Team Managers meeting. At the World Champs in England in 1966, the final was given the epithet "Excellent and well-flown". The same thing happened in 1968 with a tight and well-flying final. This year was also the first time with a 7 cc tank instead of a 10 cc plus 200 laps in the final. During the 60's Schnuerle porting also came into use in the engines where one of the leading figures was Paul Bugl.

This with well-flown finals was really topped in 1970 when the reviews call it the "Cleanest final ever". In 1972, Finland stepped in late to organize the Championship after the ordinary organizer dropped out. Unfortunately, this World Championship faced the fact that many countries did not participate. Sometime during this period also came the rule that the mechanic could not catch the model in the air as it had to be on the ground with the engine off first.

At the World Champs in Czechoslovakia in 1974, several teams used groupers (ie to get the lines together) to reduce air resistance. And those who didn't come there with groupers were not slow to use them on the spot as it reduced the heat times by 10-15 seconds.

#### 1980 Czestochowa Poland

1. Hans Geschwendtner/John Mau	DEN
2. John Albritton/Walt Perkins	USA
2. Steve Smith/Colin Brown	GBR

# 1982 Oxelösund Sweden

1. Valentin Shapovalov/Victor Onufrienko	USSR
2. Frederico Rossi/Andrea Rossi	ITA
3. Victor Barkov/Volodymyr Surayev	USSR

### 1984 Chicopee USA

1. Steve Smith/Colin Brown	GBR
2. Reneé van Uden/Johan van Uden	NED
3. Heinz Nitsche/Friedrich Kuhnegger	AUT

#### 1986 Pecs Hungary

1. Victor Barkov/Volodymyr Surayev	USSR
2. Sergei Burtsev/Victor Onufrienko	USSR
3. Vladimir Zhirov/Vladimir Shevchenko	USSR

## 1988 Kiev USSR

1. Victor Barkov/Volodymyr Surayev	USSR
2. Yuri Shabashov/Vladimir Ivanov	USSR
3. Yuri Nazin/Oleg Vorobiev	USSR