Valery Timofeev.

1970 - 1978



Karl Plotsin, Valery Timofeev, Valentin Shapovalov, Victor Onufrienko, Boris Krasnorutsky and Alexander Babichev.



Derek Heaton, Malcolm Ross, John Mau, Hans Geschwendtner, Rob Metkemeijer and Bert Metkemeijer.



Rob Metkemeijer.



Karl Plotsin.



Derek Heaton and Malcolm Ross.



Jens Geschwendtner and Luis Petersen.



Paul Bugl and Hans Straniak.



Luis Petersen and Valentin Shapovalov.



Victor Onufrienko and Alexander Babichev.

1970 Namur Belgium

1. Alexander Babichev/Boris Krasnorutsky USSR

2. Karl Plotsin/Valery Timofeev USSR

3. Valentin Shapovalov/Victor Onufrienko USSR

1972 Helsinki Finland

1. Karl Plotsin/Valery Timofeev USSR 2. Valeriy Kramarenko/Boris Krasnorutsky USSR

3. Valentin Shapovalov/Victor Onufrienko USSR

1974 Hradec Kralove Czeckoslovakia

Valentin Shapovalov/Victor Onufrienko USSR
 Paul Bugl/Hans Straniak AUT
 Pietro Fontana/Franco Amodio ITA

1976 Utrecht The Netherlands

Victor Barkov/Volodymyr Surayev
 Luis Petersen/Jens Geschwendtner
 Valentin Shapovalov/Victor Onufrienko

USSR

1978 Liverpool United Kingdom

1. Bert Metkemeijer/Rob Metkemeijer NED
2. Hans Geschwendtner/John Mau DEN
3. Derek Heaton/Malcom Ross GBR

But already at this first World Champ, things happened apart from the fact that the rules still needed to be developed, the jury/judges were inconsistent and subjective and the competition forms needed to settle. The wealth of invention is great and to get around being disqualified/warned for whipping several flew with their left hand. Partly you could then shorten the lines and partly it was easier to hide whipping.

Before the last round, there were two English teams (Taylor/Yeldham and Davy/Long respectively) and a Swedish team (Rosenlund/Bjork) who had the 3 best times with such a margin that it would be difficult for others to pass. But then the Belgian Bernard (with mechanic Lietzman) came in and flew with his left hand and with whipping and shortening of lines put Davy/Long out of the final. The Judges did not react but after the protests afterwards the Judges came up with the decision to ban left hand flying in the final. Once in the final, Bernard succeeded in a maneuver to get the English team into a hard landing that bent their models landing gear. English protest afterwards was rejected. Rosenlund had higher speed and held off and crossed the finish line first. But due to foul play, after the final Rosenlund was disqualified as he had one foot inside the circle during a refueling. Something that had been allowed earlier during the competition. And that made Bernard win and go home with a trophy and a tarnished reputation. Like Ugo Rossi in F2A (see Lina 2-2021). As a parenthesis, it can be mentioned that both were absent from the Championship the following year. If you want to read more about this, Adrian Duncan has written an article worth reading that was both published in Aeromodeller and is available on Adrian's website.

Another notable thing was that one of the American teams (father and son Edwards) used a Cox Olympic glow plug engine. They made it do the laps also start well but in terms of speed it couldn't compete with the diesels.