

Henning Forbech DEN.



Vlacheslav Beliaev RUS.



Ingvar Abrahamsson SWE.

## The 1990 podium in France with Mervyn Jones GBR, Vlacheslav Beliaev RUS and Henning Forbech DEN.

From only flying with diesel engines and models built in balsa, a change took place around 1975 when more and more pilots used glow engines and models cut out of styrofoam (it "snowed" a lot during the heats during a certain period!!). From the 80's onwards, the glow engine toke over completely and the model construction we see today with a strong leading edge and wing built up with balsa ribs has been around for over 30 years, mainly due to it being a durable construction that is suitable for the class. Composites such as Carbon fiber and Kevlar are used to reinforce, but the attempts we have seen with models where the main component has been composites have never succeeded.

The majority of Championships have been held in Europe although there have been exceptions (USA 1984 and 2004, China 1994 and Australia 2016) and the number of pilots has fluctuated between 40 and 100. An increase was seen after each country also was allowed to have I junior in the team and now most recently with the fact that you are also allowed to have a female participant.

Two pilots, Vlacheslav Beliaev and Igor Trifonov, have both won 3 World Champs titles while Audrius Rastenis and Stanislav Chornyy have two titles each. This means that during the 22 World Champs that have been held, we have crowned 16 different Champions from 8 different countries. If we look at

# 1990 - 1996

#### 1990 Blenod France (46)

1 Vlacheslav Beliaev RUS 2 Mervyn Jones GBR 3 Henning Forbech DEN

#### 1992 Hradec Kralove (58) Czechoslovakia

1 Vlacheslav Beliaev RUS 2 Ingvar Abrahamsson SWE 3 Mervyn Jones GBR

### 1994 Shanghai China (43)

1 Mervyn Jones GBR 2 Vlacheslav Beliaev RUS 3 Boris Faizov RUS

#### 1996 Norrköping Sweden (63)

1 Vlacheslav Beliaev RUS 2 Dmitri Bazulin Jun RUS 3 Loet Wakkerman NED



Mervyn Jones GBR.



The podium in China in 1994 with Vlacheslav Beliaev RUS, Mervyn Jones GBR and Boris Faizov RUS.